Who are the members of Council, what do they do, and how can I contact them? Take a look below to find the answers to these questions and many more. 

To learn more about Council meetings, to become a delegation or to submit correspondence for the next Council agenda, visit the Clerk's Department by clicking here

To view Council agendas, please click here. To view Council minutes, please click here

On This Page:

2015 Strategic Plan

The Township of Elizabethtown-Kitley Council adopted a Strategic Plan on November 9, 2015.  An electronic version of this document is available by clicking this link: 2015 Strategic Plan

Contact Council

Members of Council can also be reached by contacting the Clerk. To send written correspondence to any member of council, please direct your letters to: 

    Township of Elizabethtown-Kitley 
    6544 New Dublin Road 
    RR 2 
    Addison, ON K0E 1A0

Mayor Jim Pickard
Telephone: 613-342-5721

Councillor Jason Barlow 
Telephone: 613-345-0446

Councillor Earl Brayton
Telephone: 613-345-2650

Councillor Dan Downey
Telephone: 613-275-1460

Councillor Christina Eady
Telephone: 613-803-4613

Councillor Jim Miller
Telephone: 613-924-9542

Councillor Rob Smith
Telephone: 613-498-0827

Contact the Clerk

Administrator-Clerk Yvonne L. Robert
Phone: 613-345-7480 or 1-800-492-3175 (within the 613 area code)
Fax: 613-345-7235

Township of Elizabethtown-Kitley
6544 New Dublin Road RR 2 
Addison, Ontario K0E 1A0


Composition of Council

The Council of the Township of Elizabethtown-Kitley is composed of seven members including the Mayor and the Acting Mayor. 

Duties of the Mayor

The Mayor is elected at large during a regular election. As described in By-law 10-07, the Policies and Procedures By-law of the Township of Elizabethtown-Kitley, the Mayor is required to carry out the following duties when chairing a Council Meeting: 


a) Except as otherwise provided for herein, the Mayor shall be the Presiding Officer at all meetings of Council
b) The Presiding Officer shall:
          i.  Open all Council meetings by taking the Chair and calling the Members to order;
          ii.  Make such remarks as is fitting for the information or assistance of Council; 
          iii. Receive and submit in the proper manner, all motions presented by Members of Council; 
          iv. Put to vote all questions which are regularly moved and seconded or necessarily arise in the course of the proceedings
          and announce the result;
          v.  Decline to put to vote motions which infringe upon the Rules of Procedure;
          vi. Enforce on all occasions the observance of order and decorum among the members;
          vii.To call by name any Member persisting in breach of the Rules of Procedure and order him/her to vacate the Chamber;
          viii.To inform Council, when necessary or when referred to for the purpose, in a point of order;
          ix. Authenticate by his/her signature, when necessary, all by-laws, resolutions and minutes of Council;
          x. Represent and support Council; declaring its will and implicitly obeying its decisions in all things; 
          xi. Ensure that the decisions of Council conform to the laws and by-laws governing the activities of Council;
          xii. Adjourn the meeting without question in the case of a grave disorder arising in the Council chamber.

c) The Presiding Officer may state relevant facts and his/her position on any matter before Council without leaving the chair, but the Presiding Officer must first leave the chair to move a motion. 
d) If the Presiding Officer desires to leave the chair to move a motion, pursuant to subsection 3 c) above or otherwise, the Presiding Officer shall call upon the Acting Mayor as set out in the Acting Mayor By-law, passed by Council from time to time, who is in attendance to preside until the issue is resolved. 
e) In the event that the Acting Mayor is not in attendance, the next member of Council listed in the Acting Mayor By-law shall assume the duties of the Acting Mayor. 

The Mayor also represents the Township at various meetings and functions, including holding a seat on County Council. 

Duties of the Acting Mayor

For the 2014-2018 Term of Council, an Acting Mayor schedule has been created. In the absence of the Mayor the Acting Mayor will fulfill his or her duties. 

The Acting Mayor By-law

The Corporation of the Township of Elizabethtown-Kitley
By-law Number 14-48
Whereas pursuant to section 266 of the Municipal Act, 2001, the Council of any municipality may by by-law appoint a member of the council to act from time to time in the place and stead of the Head of Council when the Head of Council is absent from the municipality or is absent through illness or his office is vacant and, while so acting, such member has and may exercise all the rights, powers and authority of the Head of Council:

Now Therefore the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Elizabethtown-Kitley hereby enacts as follows:

1. THAT the Members of Council shall be appointed Acting Mayor for the month and year indicated on the attached Schedule “A”.

2. THAT in the absence of the Mayor, the Acting Mayor shall have and may exercise all the rights, powers and authority of the Mayor during the term indicated.

3. THAT the provisions of this by-law shall come into force and take effect upon the passing thereof.

Schedule "A" to By-law 14-48

Please click here to view the Acting Mayor Schedule.

Duties of the Councillors

The Township of Elizabethtown-Kitley has six Township Councillors, not including the Mayor, who are elected at large. Duties of the Councillors include attending Council Meetings, Regular and Working Sessions, as well as sitting on a number of Committees. 

Code of Conduct

Please click here to view the Code of Conduct adopted by Council in August 2018.

Township of Elizabethtown-Kitley, 6544 New Dublin Rd, RR 2  Addison, ON, K0E 1A0
Tel. 613-345-7480 or 1-800-492-3175, Fax. 613-345-7235, Email:
Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

Powered by CivicWeb CMS - © Copyright 2014 iCompass Technologies Inc.